FA Cup
04th Sep 2016 | by: William Bossman
Bechem United are 2015/16 MTN FA Cup Champions

Bechem United have won the 2015/16 edition of the MTN FA Cup Competition after beating Okwawu United 2-1 in the grand finale played on Sunday evening.

Yaw Arnol scored twice to give the Premier League side victory and their first major trophy though Akoto Danso got a consolation for the soccer mountaineers.

The match which was played at the New Cape Coast Stadium saw fans throng the 15,000 seater stadium to witness the exciting game between the two sides.

After a scoreless first half, Yaw Arnol put Bechem up in the 55th minute with shot from the edge of the box.

Okwawu United however equalised in the 63rd minute when Akoto Danso latched on to a Maclin Ampadu low-cross and drove the ball into the net.

Yaw Arnol restored Bechem United's lead towards the end of the game connecting from Abednago Tetteh's kick to seal the win for the Hunters from the Brong Ahafo region.

Okwawu failed to get another goal despite the opportunities that fell their way before the blast of the whistle.

Placed 8th on the Ghana Premier League table, this historic feat could boost Bechem United 's quest to stay in the topflight.

Having won the competition, the Brong Ahafo club will represent Ghana in the CAF Confederation Cup competition next year.

Medeama SC won last year's MTN FA Cup and we're placed in Group B of the Continental competition.

Share this article

16th Aug 2017
Asante Kotoko 2 - 1 W. Nea Salamina
30th Jul 2017
Accra Hearts of Oak 1 - 0 Danbort FC
30th Jul 2017
Wa All Stars 2 - 0 Berekum Chelsea
30th Jul 2017
Medeama 2 - 1 Amidaus Professionals