FA Cup
23rd May 2017 | by: GFA Communications Department
MTN FA Cup Round of 16 draw to be held on May 31

Clubs who have made it into the Round of 16 of the MTN FA Cup Competition will know their fate when the Round of 16 live draw is held at the M Plaza Hotel in Accra at 11:00am on Wednesday, May 31, 2017.

Nine Premier League clubs and Seven Division One League clubs have made it into the next stage of the competition.

These include 10-time Champions Accra Hearts of Oak SC, 8-time winners, Asante Kotoko SC, Two time winners, Medeama SC, defending champions Bechem United FC and defending Ghana League Champions, Wa All Stars FC.

Premier League leaders and former MTN FA Cup semi-finalists, WAFA SC, who are aiming for a double, are in the hunt as are last year’s semi-finalists, Liberty Professionals FC.

The competition has proven to be no respecter of big teams and that is why the Division One League clubs such as FC Samartex 1996, who eliminated Hearts of Oak last season, Wassaman United FC, Amidaus Professionals FC, Danbort FC, Steadfast FC, Nea Salamina FC and Accra Young Wise FC can be very dangerous.

Matches for the Round of 16 of the MTN FA Cup will be played at the weekend of Friday, June 16, 2017 to Sunday, June 18, 2017.

All media houses and Clubs are invited to attend the event.

Teams for the draw on Wednesday:

PREMIER LEAGUE CLUBS                                                                   

1.        Liberty Professionals FC         - Dansoman                                              

2.        Accra Hearts of Oak SC          - Accra                                                           

3.        WAFA SC                               - Sogakope                                             

4.        Elmina Sharks FC                    - Elmina                                       

5.        Medeama SC                           - Tarkwa                                       

6.        Asante Kotoko SC                   - Kumasi                                                

7.        Wa All Stars FC                       - Wa                                                 

8.        Berekum Chelsea FC               - Berekum                                            

9.        Bechem United FC                  - Bechem                                      


GN BANK DIVISION ONE LEAGUE CLUBS                                                                

10.      FC Samartex 1996                   - Samreboi

11.      Wassaman United FC              - Tarkwa

12.      Amidaus Professionals FC       - Tema

13.      Danbort FC                              - Nungua, Accra                                 

14.      Steadfast FC                             - Tamale                                

15.      Nea Salamina FC                     - Dormaa

16.      Accra Young Wise FC             - Zaytuna Park, Kasoa 

Share this article

16th Aug 2017
Asante Kotoko 2 - 1 W. Nea Salamina
30th Jul 2017
Medeama 2 - 1 Amidaus Professionals
30th Jul 2017
Accra Hearts of Oak 1 - 0 Danbort FC
30th Jul 2017
Wa All Stars 2 - 0 Berekum Chelsea