SWAG to honour GFA Dep. General Secretary Alex Asante
01st Jan 2018 | by: GFA Communications Department

GFA Deputy General Secretary, Alex Asante will receive a special award at the 43rd Sport Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards Night.

Mr Asante who is a Deputy General Secretary in charge of International Competitions & International Relations, was named alongside founder of  Elmina Sharks Dr. Paa Kwesi Nduom.

The Deputy GFA scribe is being honored for his hard work and contribution to the development of Ghana football over the years

Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor of Sanford World Clinics, sponsors of the Women's FA Cup and former Black Stars team doctor Dr. Martin Engmann will all receive special awards.
 This was announced by SWAG in a statement on Monday which included the list of outstanding sports men and women for the Awards ceremony.

SWAG announce list f 43rd Awards Night 
The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) has released the list of outstanding sports men and women for the 43rd SWAG Awards Night.

Daniel Nii Adjei - (TP Mazembe, DRC), 
Thomas Teye Partey- (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Christian Atsu - (Newcastle, England) and Richard Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia) have been nominated for the Footballer of the Year award.

Thomas Abbey(Hearts of Oak), Amos Frimpong (Kotoko) and Stephen Sarfo (B. Chelsea) will also vie for the Footballer of the Year Award designed for players in the Ghana Premier League and FA Cup and other local events competitions.

SWAG is expected to officially launch the event at a ceremony where they will announce details of the awards night, which will also coincide with activities of their 50th Anniversary Celebration.

Below is the full list of football personalities who have been nominated for various awards: 

1. Footballer of the Year:  
Daniel Nii Adjei - (TP Mazembe, DRC
Thomas Teye Partey- (Atletico Madrid, Spain)
Christian Atsu - (Newcastle, England)
Richard Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia)

2.    Footballer of the Year (LOCAL)
 Thomas Abbey (Hearts of Oak)
 Amos Frimpong  (Kotoko)
 Stephen Sarfo (B. Chelsea)
3.    Female Footballer of the Year
 Priscilla Adubea   (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)
Priscilla Okyere  (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)
Ruth Appiah (LadyStrikers)

4.     National Team of the Year
 Local Black Stars
 Black Sticks (female Hockey Team)
 Golden Arms  (Armwrestling)

5.    Coach of the Year
  Carl Lokko (Coach of Richard Commey
  Yussif Abubakar (Aduana)
   Carl Pierce    (Weightlifting)

6. Most Promising Star of the Year
     Richmond Osafo (Weightlifting)
     David Abagna     (Wa All Stars)
7.Female Club of the Year
   Ampem Darkoah Ladies

8.   Male Club of the Year
    Aduana Stars  (GPL)
    GRA Male Hockey team
 9. Discovery of the Year
  David Akwei (Weightlifting)
  Isaac Nii Amugi (Armwrestling)
  Suzzy Dede Teye (Lady Strikers and Black Maidens)
10.   Special Awards
 Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor (Sanford)
 Alex Asante (GFA)
 Dr. K D Asante
 Dr. Paa Kwesi Ndoum
 Dr. Martin Engmann           

Share this article